St. Ansgar, Iowa September 13, 2021

The St. Ansgar Community School District is an Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Educational Agency.

The Board of Directors of the St. Ansgar Community School District met in regular session in the High School Media Center at 5:31 P.M.

Present: Directors Steve Groth, Kyle Tabbert, Tara Bork, and Lowana Hannam. Director Morrow arrived at 5:33 P.M. Director Brumm arrived at 5:35 P.M. Superintendent Michael Crozier. Board Secretary Emily Johnson-Woods. Principal Josh Culberson. Principal Lynn Baldus. No guests were present.

Absent: Director Falk.

The meeting was called to order by President Groth. Tabbert moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the Agenda. Ayes-Tabbert, Bork, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

There were no citizens or organizations in attendance to address the board.

There were three written communications that were submitted in the packet. The first one was from Jendro Sanitation notifying the board of the 5% rate increase. The second one was from the Iowa High School Athletic Association celebrating the school district for having no ejections during the 2020-2021 school year. The third communication is from Jason Squier thanking the St. Ansgar State Bank for their continued sponsorship of the Your Checking Account banking simulation.

The Principal reports were presented in the packet.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the Superintendent Secretary's position.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the Bus Routes, next year we will get the routes out sooner in a safe way for Parent's to be able to know in advance. The school year is off to a great start.

Superintendent Crozier mentioned the IASB Convention is scheduled for November 18, 2021.

Superintendent Crozier discussed the Long Range Planning Meeting with Sam Smith with the Prouty Project. Mr Groth, Mr. Falk and Mr. Crozier met with Mr. Smith to develop a 10 year long range plan that involves the Board, Community, and Staff that can help improve our 10 year plan and have some consistency. The Saints Legacy has agreed to help the District with this financially.

There were no Educational Presentations.

Director Hannam commented on the Elementary Playground Improvements that may be needed.

Director Bork would like the staff to know that the Shop on State Grant's deadline is coming up.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the Consent Action Items which included the following:

- Minutes from the August 9, 2021 meeting.
- August 2021 Financial Statements.
- August and September bills, including prepays in the amount of \$191,458.07.
- Payroll in the amount of \$454,333.48 for August.
- Approve the resignation of John Patterson as Full-Time Route Driver.

- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$1,000 to Lori Haaland.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$500 to Marena Henkle.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$950 to Devin Schwiesow.
- Approve the Learning Connections payment for August hours in the amount of \$1,352 to Sue Loken.
- Approve Josh Staley as a Volunteer Rocket League Coach for the Esports Program.
- Approve offering Neil Riley the Custodial Position in the amount of \$16.33 per hour, waiving the probationary period and starting at the 4 year experience mark.
- Approve offering John Patterson a substitute Bus driver contract to be paid at the substitute rate.

Ayes-Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the Music Department & Junior Class Fundraiser presented in the packet. Ayes-Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the First Reading of policy 200.3, 206.1, 206.2, 213, 213.1, 302.5, 303.6, 412.3, 501.14, 501.15, 502.5, 505.6, 603.6, 604.1, 606.4, 701.6, 711.2, and 803.1. New policies 401.14, 502.3R1, 804.8, 804.8R1, and 905.3. Rescind Policies 504.3, 504.3R1, and 711.2R2. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, and Bork. Nays-None.

The Board discussed the Transportation Facility. Hannam moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the plans and timeline for construction of the bus barn. Ayes-Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to appoint the Secondary Principal, Lynn Baldus, as the Superintendent's designee for Juvenile Court Records. Ayes-Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the 2021-2022 Bus Routes as presented by Superintendent Crozier. Ayes-Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the 2021 Certified Annual Report as presented. Ayes- Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the 2021 Treasurer's Report as presented. Ayes-Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the 2021 Special Education Supplement Report as presented. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, and Bork. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to approve the Allowable Growth and Supplemental Aid Request in the amount of \$240,310.49 for the negative special education balance for the fiscal year 2021. Ayes-Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the purchase of 120 MacBook Air computers at a price of \$93,480 out of ESSER III funds. Ayes-Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve putting out bids for a new 71 passenger route bus. Ayes-Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to deny the request for transportation into our district over two miles from Central Springs. Ayes-Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to approve the first reading of board policy 507.9. Ayes- Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the termination of Angela Sturgis as Full-Time Bus Driver for failure to show up for assignment. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, and Bork. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the open enrollment as they were timely. Ayes-Groth, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, and Hannam. Nays-None.

The meeting adjourned at 6:24 P.M.

Attachments to the board minutes may be viewed at the Board Secretary's Office. There may be a charge for any copies that are requested.

Steve Groth, President

Emily Johnson-Woods, Board Secretary